This is a Post About Fabric

A smaller scale floral

I have been struggling a bit with the amount of work to do in the house. It seems daunting to me this week. It is not that I was oblivious before, but I guess I made up for it in enthusiasm. I think it is probably normal in a project of this scale. Anyway, to cheer myself up. I’ve been planning stuff to put in the house when it is all fixed up. Yes, decor is essentially my Xanax for this project. The truth is, I’ve been purchasing stuff for my house before it was even a possibility, and this tendency has only escalated in the past few months. Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t buy a ton of stuff, just small things here or there, mostly vintage things, that I won’t find again. One of these is fabric. Fabric is perfect as it doesn’t take up a lot of space, and I need it for things like throw pillows and cushions, and it helps me solidify my house color palette.

My favorite so far

The palette has been an issue because my sister and I are sharing the house. I like blues, teals, aquas, greens, and purples. She only decorates in white, black and grey. I’m okay with that, but convincing her to have a tooth pulled is easier than convincing her to use color. However, after much cajoling , I won out, and the color palette will be black, white, grey, and (muted) teals and greens. This will allow us both to use may of the things that we already own, and I can actually make it look like I live there. Plus it ensures every room will not end up a variation of grey.

This brings me back to the fabric. I love prints. I love mixing different ones together and somehow making it work. Yet, with this color palette, the prints have been quite limited. We will probably end up with black and white damask, and black and white stripes, but finding prints with blacks, greys, teals, and greens, has proved difficult. Most people want to pair aqua with chocolate brown. My sister has made it clear that this is not an option. And so, I search all the time for different prints, buying a yard or two here and there, so we have some options. Not all of them will be used. Some will end up as trim on dish or bath towels, table runners, outdoor cushions, etc. I want to be able to have a wide array of samples to put against things like the sofa and chairs. Also, many solids will be mixed in as well. Don’t worry, it won’t be a kaleidoscope.  Here are the ones I have found so far. Do you guys have any favorites?

              

              

                 

              

photos from: poetcharms.etsy.com, blackberryprairie.etsy.com, sofunfabrics.etsy.com, fabfabrique.etsy.com, thefabstore.etsy.com, cassylaintotes.etsy.com, bewbear.etsy.com, springtreefabrics.etsy.com, fabricflair.etsy.com, drawstringstudio.etsy.com, fernandinafibers.etsy.com …yeah, I buy a lot of stuff on etsy.

7 Responses to “This is a Post About Fabric”

  1. One of my favorites is the black, white, aqua print. It is very difficult to find fabric with those colors, especially aqua and grey, but I actually like all the fabric you picked out.

    • Sara, I’m glad you like some of them! Its so hard to find things that yoiu like for the house. You are even pickier than I am. Hopefully you will like the fabric choices, too. lol

  2. I like the third swatch LOTS. I would have such a hard time choosing, too. I am quite jealous of the decorating you get to do — I know it will be like pulling teeth when Nick and I finally get around to it.

    • Yay! I was thinking of recovering those victorian chairs in that one, actually. I’m glad someone else the art deco-ish prints. I love decorating, though. It comes from learning to tie your shoes from watching decorating programs! lol. Does he not like to decorate? Or you?

  3. i love most of these prints lol

    • Good! Honestly, I do, too. I would probably use them all throughout the house, but I don’t think Sara would be ok with that! Too much print for her. lol.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

