Jeanetta Was Not Blinded by Science: a Book Post

A new type of post! When we purchased the house it had maybe 100 old books and magazines in it, many nearly 100 years old.  Unfortunately, they were all stored in the basement for at least 20 years or more. This resulted in all of them being covered in disgusting amounts of mold and filth. I tried cleaning some of them up, but it was impossible. They just fell apart, and crumbled. I went through them all and kept the ones with interesting inscriptions, or pictures and plan to scan them in. That way I at least have a digital record of this part of the house.

Cartoons from the back cover, including a dutch "girl" and a "toothless flapper".

This is A Year in Science, published in 1916. It appears to be a school book of Jeanetta Trimble, one of James’ daughters with his second wife. From the amount of doodling and drawing in the book, it seems that science was not her favorite subject in school. She used the book in 1925, as per the inscriptions and dated absence forms that I found inside. She called herself “Sheba”, and had little conversations and cartoons with a friend or classmate that she called “Sheik”.

"Sheik" and "Sheba" Cartoons

Other Doodles:

Cover                                                                       

                   
4 Comments to “Jeanetta Was Not Blinded by Science: a Book Post”

  1. This is very cool! I love the “dutch girl” and flapper drawings! You should contact your local library or university library and ask to talk with someone from special collections for advice on how to care for the books. I’m embarrassed to admit I took a course in special collections but I can’t remember what to do with books like this – the course I took was mostly about film. Maybe taking photos or scans is the best thing to do!

    Do you know anything more about Jeanetta?

  2. That is a good idea about contacting someone to see hpw to care for them! I might contact tohe cultural center here, too. They accept donations of things like this, and probably could care for it better than I could. Plus I want to get in their archives to look around, so I need to give them a call anyway! At least with hte scans I can have a copy of it, and most of them are in such bad condition. I’m afraid to use anything on them to kill the mold and mildew, as I don;t really know what it will do to the fragile books, or the pencil inscriptions and such.

    I haven’t done a history post about the builder, James Trimble, and his second wife yet. Jeanetta was one of his daughters with the second wife, and 1 of 6 children. She was a schoolteacher and used to live in my house. One of the members of the community told me she used to garden all in black, with long black gloves, and a big black hat with a veil. I guess to avoid the sun. She also was said to have very nice jewelry, and that she wore a ton of bangles on one arm. I think she married a more affluent man, but I need to look into that more to be certain. Sadly, she has passed away, so I can’t contatct her about the drawings. She sounds like she must have been quite a character, though!

    • That is a great idea to donate them! Especially if you already have the scans.

      It’s really cool to think of these whole lives lived in your house. What an interesting lady! She must have been quite sensitive to the sun. I am so jealous you have stories about the people who lived there, as well as photos and objects. I’ve tried to research the history of our house and the people that have lived here, and it has been roadblock after roadblock. Our house is on the National Register of Historic Places (the historic downtown is, so we’re part of it) and there is no record of our house or the original owners anywhere. Unfortunately a lot of the census records from 1890 were lost in a fire. However, I’ve found who lived here in 1905 – his last name was Karo and he owned a dry goods store downtown, but it’s been difficult to search for him or find out what happened to him. The owners prior to us bought it in the 1950s, and they gave us their deed of sale, so we know the owners prior to them, too, but it hasn’t been much help. One of these days I’ll have to go give the search another try!

      • I think it is really interesting, too. I’m as interested in the people that lived in the house, as fixing up the house! I think we were really lucky in that the house was passed down through the same family line (the Trimble family) until we purchased it. We are the first owners that are not members of that family. Also, there are many older people that live in the town, and knew the people that lived there. It is such a mess right now, I think they are all really excited that we are fixing it up, so they like to share! I have to say, the town archive is meticulous, too. Some older ladies banded together to save the Old Town Hall in the town, when several men in the town were set on demolishing it. As a way to save it, they called in architects and formed a historical society to set up a historical district that included the town hall. We are in the historical district, too. Our house is not listed seperately. But, all the houses included in the district are in filed by name, and all information that could be gathered about them in neat files. I’m just glad I found someone that could access them! At least you have the names on the deeds! That’s something, at least. Don’t give up, though! Maybe someday you will get a lucky break like I did!

Leave a Reply

